2005

Annual gathering Sunday October 23rd, 2005 in Saint-Jean-de-Matha

In the world of Louis Cyr
Translated from French to English by Paulette Legault.

2005_1Though a dull and rainy day, the 8th gathering of the Legault dit Deslauriers on Sunday October 23rd, 2005 was held in the beautiful region of St-Jean-de-Matha, QC. It was with warm smiles that the members of the administration greeted the Legault and Deslauriers descendants and their guests from various regions of Quebec and Ontario.

This day began for some with a mass held at the local catholic church. Our treasurer, Mrs. Lillian Delaurier Companion (m.355) had a beautiful commemorative booklet made for this occasion for everyone to bring home. Approximately thirty guests participated in a guided tour of the Louis Cyr museum. This museum depicts the life of one of the strongest men in the world. We were informed that this particular building will be undergoing some renovations shortly in order to expand its floor space. Our guide also told us that there is presently a movie being produced on the life of Louis Cyr.

We then headed for the St-Jean-de-Matha Golf Club to be greeted by our hosts for the day, Mrs. Raymonde Legault (m. 037) and her husband Gilbert Paradis. It was great seeing new and familiar faces and share in a good meal. Lillian, our treasurer, and her husband Joseph set up a booth with the association’s promotional items; pins, articles and a new item added this year, a mug with our emblem. A table also displayed books, magazines, photos and other genealogy treasures courtesy of Luc Legault (m. 176). Luc brought his personal computer in order to answer any questions on our ancestors. He was also handing out information on the ascendance of those present that day going back all the way to Noël Legault.

Three women artists from the community had graciously accepted our invitation to display their talents and products.

After the meal, Mr. Hubert-Guy Legault (m.324) distributed an article relating to Noël, and then quizzed everyone on it. This was a big hit with everyone. Bravo Hubert-Guy for that very entertaining game!

2005_2We never get together without having our traditional draw for prizes. Our energetic president Mr. Eugène Legault (m.007) donated some of his own wine packaged in beautiful baskets. Thanks to Raymonde Legault and her husband Gilbert Paradis, from St-Jean-de-Matha, we had numerous gifts from the local community. Their dedication and hard work made this day ever so pleasant. Thank you Raymonde and Gilbert, your support was greatly appreciated.

Using a slide presentation, our guest speaker, Mr. Michel Gadoury, historian and municipal councillar, briefed us on the impressive career of Mr. Louis Cyr. In 1985, he founded the Historical Society in St-Jean-de-Matha and it was with incredible dynamism that he told amusing stories about some of the residents of this region.

Following the presentations, our annual meeting began with the reading of each individual committee reports followed by a question period, then proceeded to the election of our new executive board members. Our new board is now composed of our new president Mrs. Monique Dubois Legault (m. 001), our new vice-president, Mr. Jacques Legault (m. 050), Lillian Delaurier Companion (m. 355) our treasurer and Mr. Hubert-Guy Legault (m. 324) will be our new secretary. The other administrators will be Mr. Francois Legault (m.060), Mr. André Legault (m. 017), Mr. Robert Legault (m.010), Mrs. Yolande Desmarais (m.287) and Mr. Réjean Lachance (m.458). Inspite of our many efforts in recruiting, two positions are still left vacant so the new Board of Directors will be made up of 10 members instead of 12.

Commemorative plaques were presented in thanks to Mr. Eugène Legault (m.007) and Mrs. Hélène Legault Lauzon (m.103) for their services to the Association. Thank you Hélène and Eugène, your departure will surely be felt.

We also thanked Mr. Jacques-André Deslauriers (m.277) and his wife Liliane Deslauriers for their involvement in the picnic held in Casselman, Ontario and also Mrs. Raymonde Paradis (m.037) and her husband Gilbert Paradis for helping the Association with planning our event. Clocks bearing their name and our association’s emblem were presented to them.

It was with regret that the day came to an end and it was time to say «’til we meet again» either at the sugar shack in April at the Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, QC, or the picnic in Saint-Eustache in June or in Cornwall at NAV Canada on October 22nd, 2006.

We’ve already started working on the celebrations for our 10th gathering which will be held in the Valleyfield area in 2007. We are looking for anyone interested in participating with us to highlight this event. Please contact any of the Directors of the Association.

By Sylvie Legault (m. 388)

2005

Rassemblement annuel du dimanche, le 23 octobre 2005 à Saint-Jean-de-Matha

Dans l’univers de Louis-Cyr

2005_1C’est par temps maussade que le 8ème rassemblement des Legault dit Deslauriers a eu lieu le dimanche, 23 octobre 2005, dans la belle région de Saint-Jean-de-Matha. C’est avec un sourire chaleureux que les membres du Conseil d’administration accueillirent les Legault et les Deslauriers de toutes les régions du Québec et de l’Ontario.

Cette journée a débuté, pour certains, avec la messe à l’église du village. Les gens ont pu constater le feuillet réalisé pour la circonstance, par notre trésorière Mme Lillian Delaurier-Companion (m. 355). Et, pour d’autres, environ une trentaine, ils ont participé à une visite guidée au musée Louis Cyr. Ce musée relate la vie d’un des plus grands hommes forts au monde. On nous a informés que ce bâtiment fera l’objet d’un nouvel aménagement afin d’élargir sa superficie. Également, notre guide nous a indiqué qu’un film est en cours de tournage sur la vie de Louis Cyr.

Nous nous sommes ensuite déplacés vers le Golf de Saint-Jean-de-Matha pour faire du cousinage et partager un bon repas. Un kiosque avait été disposé par Lillian (m. 355), notre trésorière, et son mari, avec des articles promotionnels. Une table, avec des livres, des revues, des photos et quelques trésors généalogiques, avait été disposée pour satisfaire la curiosité des gens. Luc (m. 176) avait apporté son ordinateur dans le but de répondre aux gens sur leur ascendance. Il nous a remis une feuille montrant l’ascendance de toutes les personnes présentes et leurs liens entre eux jusqu’à l’ancêtre Noël.

Trois dames de l’endroit avaient disposé une table exposant des produits locaux.

Après le repas, M. Hubert-Guy Legault (m. 324) nous a divertis avec un jeu questionnaire sur notre ancêtre. Le plaisir était au rendez-vous. Bravo Hubert-Guy (m. 324), pour ce petit jeu amusant!

2005_2Notre rencontre ne se fait pas sans tirage de prix de présence. Notre président sortant Eugène (m. 007) a offert des bouteilles de son propre vin. Grâce au couple Gilbert Paradis et Raymonde Legault (m. 037), de ce patelin, nous avons eu plusieurs prix à distribuer. Leur dévouement et leurs nombreux efforts ont permis que cette journée se déroule agréablement. Merci Raymonde (m. 037) et merci Gilbert; votre support a été grandement apprécié.

Nous avons ainsi souligné, pour leur dévouement, M. Jacques-André Des-lauriers (m. 277) et son épouse Liliane pour leur participation au pique-nique à Casselman et évidemment à Raymonde Legault (m. 037) et son époux Gilbert pour cette rencontre annuelle. Un horloge avec leur nom et le blason de l’association leur a été remise en guise de souvenir.

M. Michel Gadoury, historien et conseiller municipal, a résumé la carrière de Louis Cyr. Il a fondé en 1985, la Société historique de Saint-Jean-de-Matha et c’est avec un dynamisme incroyable qu’il nous a raconté quelques petites anecdotes amusantes sur des personnages de cette belle région.

Par la suite, l’assemblée annuelle débuta avec les rapports de chaque comité, suivis d’une période de questions, puis on procéda aux élections. Le Conseil d’administration est ainsi formé: Mme Monique Dubois-Legault (m. 001) devient présidente, M. Jacques Legault (m. 050) devient vice-président, Mme Lillian Delaurier-Companion (m. 355) devient trésorière et M. Hubert-Guy Legault (m. 324) devient, pour sa part, secrétaire. Voilà pour l’exécutif. Les autres administrateurs sont: M. Luc Legault (m. 176), M. François Legault (m. 060), M. André Legault (m. 017), M. Robert Legault (m. 010), Mme Yolande Desmarais (m. 287) et M. Réjean Lachance (m. 458). Malgré de nombreux efforts dans le recrutement, deux postes sont restés vacants. Donc le nouveau Conseil d’administration devra composer avec 10 membres au lieu de 12.

Nous avons également souligné le départ au sein du Conseil d’administration de Mme Hélène-Legault Lauzon (m. 103) et de M. Eugène Legault (m. 007), en leur remettant, en guise de remerciements une plaque souvenir soulignant leur implication au sein de l’association.

Merci Hélène (m. 103) et Eugène (m. 007), votre départ va créer un vide.

C’est avec regret que l’après-midi s’est terminé et nous nous sommes quittés en nous disant au revoir et à la prochaine soit à la cabane à sucre en avril à Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, soit au pique-nique à Saint-Eustache en juin ou encore à NAV Canada de Cornwall, le 22 octobre 2006.

Des préparatifs sont également en cours pour souligner la 10e rencontre qui aura lieu dans la région de Valleyfield en 2007. Nous sommes à la recherche de personnes désireuses de collaborer avec nous, afin de souligner cet événement. Contactez un membre du C.A. de l’Association.

par Sylvie Legault (m. 388)