2003

Annual Gathering, Sunday, October 19, 2003 in Brownsburg-Chatham

A real success
Translated from French to English by Paulette Legault.

2003_1On a beautiful sunny and cold day of autumn, the descendants of Noël Legault dit Deslauriers and Marie Besnard converged on the Lachute area in the MRC d’Argenteuil, more precisely at the Brownsburg-Chatham Oasis International Golf Club, a location proposed by the 6th Annual Meeting Committee.

2003_2In Lachute, an electronic sign located at the intersection of the North Road welcomed the participants to our reunion. A committee headed by Nicole Gauthier (member 316) decorated the room with pumpkins and colors of the season.

Following registration, we became acquainted over coffee and croissants. We then left to visit the Our Lady of Lourdes Grotto followed by mass in the chapel of the Franciscan Fathers.

Father Michel Legault, msa, (member 181) celebrated mass and since it was Mission Sunday, Father Éthier, the Superior, asked him to speak about his life as a missionary in Cameroon.

On the way back to the golf club, we admired the fall colors. Our president Eugene Legault (member 007) welcomed the 89 persons in attendance and all enjoyed a hot and cold buffet prepared by the staff of the Oasis Golf Club.

The Annual Meeting followed. Each member received a notebook prepared by our secretary Hélène (member 103), to be used at this meeting.

2003_3Hélène Legault-Lauzon (member 103) chaired the meeting. The minutes of the annual and special meeting held in Pointe Claire on October 19, 2002 were read and adopted. President Eugene Legault (member 007) presented his report followed by the Financial Report by Treasurer Claudette-Giselle Legault Maither (member 170). The following reports followed: Genealogy by Denise Legault (Member 282); Newsletter and Website by Luc Legault (member 176); Committee for the 6th Annual Meeting and presentation of new candidates by Nicole Gauthier (member 316). All vacant positions were filled by acclamation.

Near the time of adjournment, the council elected a steering committee made up of four members at large and five Directors. A question period followed. Various suggestions were presented for the 2004 Annual Meeting, and invitations were extended to visit different regions. It was also suggested that special attention be paid to the Federation of History and Genealogy.

2003_4Regional committees were suggested. The idea was accepted on principal and the CA asked persons to come forward in the weeks to come.

Several lucky people were winners of door prizes donated by our president and the City of Lachute. Daniel Mayer, mayor of Lachute, welcomed us to the region. Mr. Hubert-Guy Legault, (member 324) a history professor, spoke to us about the Argenteuil region and illustrated his points with a slide show.

Given the late hour, Father Michel Legault (m. 181) shortened his presentation and the complete text will therefore be published in the Bulletin.

The meeting of “cousins” prolonged the meeting and our specialist Luc (member 176), assisted people looking for ancestors with his database, with the help of his collaborators, François (member 060) and Denise (member 282).

This is but a farewell, as preparations are already underway for the next annual meeting in 2004.

By: Monique Dubois-Legault (m. 001)

2003

Rassemblement annuel dimanche, le 19 octobre 2003 à Brownsburg-Chatham

Un réel succès

2003_1Par une belle journée froide et ensoleillée d’automne, les descendants de Noël Legault dit Deslauriers et Marie Besnard convergeaient vers ce beau coin de notre pays: la région de Lachute dans la MRC d’Argenteuil, plus particulièrement à Brownsburg-Chatham, au Club de golf l’Oasis International, endroit qui avait été proposé par le Comité de la 6e rencontre annuelle.

2003_2À Lachute, un panneau électronique situé au carrefour de la route du Nord souhaite la bienvenue aux participants de notre rencontre de familles. Un comité, sous la direction de Mme Nicole Gauthier (m. 316), avait décoré la salle avec citrouilles et couleurs de la saison.

À l’accueil, après l’inscription, on fait connaissance autour d’un café et des brioches. Puis, c’est le départ pour la visite de la grotte Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes et la messe à la chapelle des Pères Franciscains.

Le Père Michel Legault, msa, (m. 181) concélèbre et comme c’est le Dimanche des Missions, le supérieur, Père Éthier, lui demande de parler de sa vie comme missionnaire au Cameroun.

Sur la route de retour au Club de golf, nous admirons les couleurs automnales. Notre président, Eugène Legault (m. 007) souhaite la bienvenue et les 89 personnes présentes dégustent un buffet chaud et froid préparé par le Club de golf l’Oasis.

Vient ensuite le temps de procéder à l’assemblée annuelle des membres. Chaque membre reçoit un cahier préparé par notre secrétaire Mme Hélène Legault-Lauzon (m. 103), pour la tenue de cette assemblée.

2003_3Mme Hélène Legault-Lauzon (m. 103) agit comme présidente d’assemblée. On procède à la lecture et adoption des procès-verbaux des assemblées spéciale et annuelle tenues à Pointe-Claire, le 19 octobre 2002. Le président, M. Eugène Legault (m. 007) présente son rapport, suivi de la trésorière Mme Claudette-Giselle Legault-Maither (m. 170) qui présente les états financiers de la dernière année fiscale. Les rapports suivants suivirent: Comité de généalogie, par Mme Denise Legault (mme 282); Comité du bulletin et du site Web, par M. Luc Legault (m. 176); Comité de la 6e rencontre et Comité des mises en candidature, par Mme Nicole Gauthier (m. 316). Tous les postes vacants ayant été comblés, il n’y a pas eu d’élections.

Au moment de l’ajournement, le conseil se choisit un comité de direction de 4 membres et les 5 autres sont des administrateurs. Une période de questions suit ainsi que le varia; des suggestions sont faites pour la prochaine rencontre annuelle de 2004, ainsi que des invitations pour la visite de régions. On suggère d’être attentifs au travail des Fédérations d’Histoire et de Généalogie.

2003_4On suggère des comités régionaux. Le principe est accepté et le CA demande à des personnes de se proposer durant les semaines à venir.

Plusieurs personnes sont les heureuses gagnantes de prix de présence donnés par notre président et la Ville de Lachute. Le maire de Lachute, M. Daniel Mayer, nous souhaite la bienvenue dans la région. M. Hubert-Guy Legault (m. 324), de Lachute, professeur d’histoire, nous parle de la région d’Argenteuil et illustre son propos au moyen de diapositives.

Vu l’heure avancée, le Père Michel Legault (m. 181) écourte sa présentation et son texte sera publié dans le Bulletin.

Les rencontres de « cousinage » prolongent la rencontre et notre spécialiste, Luc (m. 176), aide des personnes qui recherchent des ancêtres avec sa banque de données, et ce, avec ses collaborateurs, François (060) et Denise (282).

Ce n’est qu’un au revoir, car des activités sont en préparation avant la prochaine rencontre annuelle 2004.

Par: Monique Dubois-Legault (m. 001)