1998

First official meeting of the founding of the Association in Pointe-Claire
Translated from French to English by Paulette Legault.

b_150_100_16777215_0___images_stories_images_rencontre_1998_1On November 15, 1998, the Association of the Descendants of Noël Legault dit Deslauriers was founded.

An author had launched the idea. Several wondered who would organize it but no one had come forward. A group of undaunted individuals headed by a woman named Dubois dit Laviolette decided to proceed. Monique Legaultt may one day shed some light as to how this was set in motion right in Irvillac.

The organizers were hoping that this meeting would be held on November 18 since that day would commemorate the 300th wedding anniversary of the ancestors, Marie and Noel.

Ads were placed in provincial, municipal and local newspapers. A reservation was made for a very small room and we found ourselves at the Holiday Inn Pointe-Claire. As the Association has not yet been formed, finances did not permit the use of a larger facility such as the Noel Legault Center in Pointe-Claire or a school.

Numerous people attended, Legaults from California, Colorado, Florida as well Ontario. Numerous cities in the great metropolitan region of Montreal sent representatives, to name a few, Pointe-Claire, Sainte-Genevieve, Pierrefonds, Chateauguay, only those attached directly to the second generation. All had been patiently waiting for this reunion. A room had been booked in expectation of approximately 90 people and the organizers felt that there would be double the room necessary. This was definitely an underestimation of the Legaults.

In the back left corner, Jean Deslauriers (m. 011) introduced his website and this would permit everyone to know their ascent up to Noel’s first child. Evidently, only the male children remained on course as others changed their names during the course of the years.

On the table in front, Jean Deslauriers (m. 011) showed his video on Irvillac, showing certain aspects of the town from which our ancestor originated. The television set did not cool off as a second group of participants were moved to a second room.

Monique Legault (m. 001) then introduced members of the Provisional Committee of the Association. Explanations, answers to questions were given in a near overheated atmosphere in the overflowing room.

New volunteers were added to the team.

By: Claude Legault (m. 066)

1998

Première rencontre officielle de fondation de l’Association, à Pointe-Claire

b_150_100_16777215_0___images_stories_images_rencontre_1998_1Le 15 novembre 1998, l’Association des descendants de Noël Legault dit Deslauriers est fondée.

Un auteur avait lancé l’idée. Plusieurs se sont demandés qui l’organise. Personne n’a trouvé de réponse. Alors, un groupe de valeureux avec à sa tête une Dubois dit Laviolette a décidé de se mouiller. Mme Monique Dubois-Legault racontera peut-être un jour comment tout cela s’est mis en branle à Irvillac même.

Les organisateurs auraient voulu que la fin de semaine, le dimanche plus précisément, soit le 18 novembre, puisque cette date aurait été la date du 300e anniversaire de mariage des ancêtres Marie et Noël.

Des annonces ici et là dans des journaux provinciaux, municipaux, locaux, une petite réservation « à risque personnel » pour la salle exiguë et nous voilà rendus à l’hôtel Holiday Inn de Pointe-Claire. L’Association n’ayant pas encore été formée, il n’était pas possible, semble-t-il d’utiliser le centre Noël Legault de Pointe-Claire ni une école qui aurait engagé plus de frais.

Ici des Legault de Californie; là d’autres du Colorado, tiens la Floride et l’Ontario sont représentés, plusieurs villes de la grande région métropolitaine de Montréal envoient des représentants : Pointe-Claire, Sainte-Geneviève, Pierrefonds, Châteauguay pour ne nommer que celles rattachées directement avec la deuxième génération. Tous attendent patiemment le début de la rencontre qui tarde. La raison, on avait prévu une salle pour environ 90 personnes ; les organisateurs pensaient qu’il y avait au moins deux fois plus de places que nécessaire. C’était sous-estimer les Legault.

Dans le coin arrière gauche, Jean Deslauriers (m. 011) (tiens, il y en avait …) qui annonçait son site WEB et qui permettait à l’un puis à l’autre de connaître son ascendance jusqu’au premier enfant de Noël. Évidemment, seuls les enfants mâles étaient en vedette puisque les autres ont changé de noms au cours des années.

Sur la table devant M. Jean Deslauriers (m. 011), un vidéo amateur sur Irvillac montre certains aspects de la ville d’origine de l’ancêtre. Le téléviseur ne fait pas long feu puisqu’on reloge une partie des participants dans une deuxième salle.

Après quelques hésitations Mme Monique Dubois-Legault (m. 001) introduit les membres du comité provisoire de l’Association. Des explications, réponses aux questions sont données dans cette atmosphère surchauffée de la salle « sur-pleine ». De nouveaux volontaires s’ajoutent à l’équipe en place.

Par: Claude Legault (m. 066)